The seven border crossings of Gaza | Israel-Palestine conflict

Gaza Metropolis – Regardless of Israel’s disengagement from the Gaza Strip in 2005, it nonetheless totally controls entry and exit from Gaza by land, air and sea, in addition to Gaza’s civil inhabitants registry, telecommunications networks, and plenty of different features of day by day life and infrastructure.

A crippling blockade started in June 2007, after Hamas took management of the Gaza Strip, with a collection of restrictions on items, gas and different primary parts, in addition to a tightening of journey into and out of the Gaza Strip.

The restrictions have led to Gaza being described as an ‘open-air jail’. A 2011 United Nations report acknowledged that the blockade was “collective punishment … in flagrant contravention of worldwide human rights and worldwide regulation”, and Israel has confronted criticism from a number of international locations and human rights organisations.

Now, whether or not you’re a affected person looking for medical therapy, a married couple attempting to reunite, a scholar attempting to check within the occupied West Financial institution or overseas, a businessman attempting to import items, or only a common Gazan attempting to go away for a visit, it is advisable use crossings, which could be closed at any time.

The Gaza Strip is surrounded by seven crossings that had been designated for the motion of individuals and items into and out of the Strip.

Not all of them are nonetheless in use. After Israel imposed the blockade in 2007, all crossings had been shut down aside from the Rafah and Beit Hanoun crossings, which had been designated for the motion of individuals, and the Karem Abu Salem crossing, which was designated for the transport of products.

Israel argues that the restrictions and the closures of a number of of the crossings are vital for safety functions, pointing to assaults which have beforehand taken place in or close to crossings.

Israel controls Beit Hanoun (additionally identified to Israelis as Erez) and Karem Abu Salem (Kerem Shalom), whereas Egypt controls Rafah. Which means crossings could be closed at any time by the Israelis or the Egyptians, leaving Gazan Palestinians stranded.

INTERACTIVE Gaza 15 years of living under blockade
(Al Jazeera)

The Rafah crossing:

The Rafah crossing is the one strategy to cross between Egypt and Gaza, and subsequently serves as an important link between Gaza and the remainder of the Arab world, particularly after Israeli forces destroyed Yasser Arafat Worldwide Airport, the one Palestinian-operated airport, in 2001.

Restrictions on the crossing imposed by the Egyptian authorities are presently not as strict as they’ve been prior to now, however limits on the quantity and kind of individuals allowed to journey proceed. This has pressured many Palestinians in Gaza to pay costly and unofficial “coordination charges” to the Egyptian facet to have the ability to go away in the course of the restricted days the crossing is open.

Palestinian passengers additionally usually complain in regards to the behaviour of Egyptian safety personnel, and what they describe as incessantly humiliating searches. These measures can extend the journey between Rafah and Cairo airport by as much as 72 hours in some instances.

The Rafah crossing doesn’t enable Palestinians from the occupied West Financial institution to enter Gaza.

Moreover, Israel doesn’t enable individuals to return to Gaza by way of the Beit Hanoun crossing if they’ve left by way of Rafah. This places Palestinians in Gaza in a troublesome state of affairs – in the event that they go away by means of Rafah and it then closes, they could not be capable of re-enter

The Beit Hanoun (Erez) crossing:

The Beit Hanoun crossing is positioned within the north of the Gaza Strip and is below full Israeli management. It’s the solely border crossing that permits Palestinians in Gaza to journey to the occupied West Financial institution with out passing by means of Egypt or Jordan, and is managed by the Israeli military.

It’s notoriously troublesome for Palestinians to enter and exit Gaza by way of Beit Hanoun – nobody crosses the border with out being granted permission by Israel and submitting to prolonged safety checks.

Permits to cross are solely given to restricted classes of individuals, corresponding to medical sufferers and their companions, trader-permit holders, and different distinctive humanitarian instances.

The allow processing instances for Beit Hanoun are identified to be extraordinarily lengthy. It has been identified for individuals looking for medical therapy exterior of Gaza to attend for as much as 50 working days for a allow, no matter when their medical appointment is.

Additionally it is quite common for Israeli authorities to not reply to allow functions, even when Palestinians in Gaza meet the journey allow standards. Israeli rejections of permits are defined as being for safety causes, with no additional rationalization given.

The Karem Abu Salem (Kerem Shalom) crossing:

Karem Abu Salem is positioned close to the purpose the place the borders between Egypt, Gaza and Israel meet, and operates sometimes as a substitute for the Rafah crossing. Nevertheless, it’s primarily used for the motion of commerce between the Gaza Strip and Israel.

For greater than a decade, the crossing has been Gaza’s principal industrial crossing and the one one bordering Israel. Additionally it is the one crossing the place items grown or produced in Gaza could be shipped on the market exterior the territory.

Karem Abu Salem was initially used for transporting humanitarian assist into Gaza for the territory’s two million residents.

Nevertheless, from 2007, Israel banned the doorway of a protracted checklist of products into Gaza, together with the entry of things it defines as “dual-use.” This implies gadgets that may have a civilian goal, however which, in response to Israel, may be used for navy functions.

The al-Muntar (Karni) crossing:

Al-Muntar (identified to Israelis as Karni) is positioned within the northeastern finish of Gaza, and was used for transferring items between Gaza and Israel, and in addition for Israeli settlers to access settlements in Gaza earlier than the 2005 Israeli disengagement. When Hamas took over the Gaza Strip in June 2007, Israel closed the crossing, and in 2011 it was completely shut by Israel.

The al-Awdah (Sufa) crossing:

The al-Awdah crossing, positioned in jap Rafah, was one of many smallest crossings in Gaza, and was previously a transit level for building supplies. It was shut down by Israel in 2008.

The al-Shujaiah (Nahal Ouz) crossing:

Al-Shujaiah crossing (also referred to as Nahal Ouz), was designated for the transportation of gas, corresponding to gasoline, benzene and industrial diesel gas into Gaza by way of underground pipes. The crossing was closed by Israeli authorities in 2010.

The al-Karara (Kissufim) crossing:

Al-Karara, (also referred to as Kissufim), is positioned east of Khan Yunis and Deir al-Balah. It was closed in 2005 after Israel’s disengagement from Gaza, and is now primarily used for Israeli navy motion, as an entry level for tanks and navy autos when navy invasions of Gaza happen.

Leave a Reply